Microsoft Partner Enablement


As a Microsoft Partner, we’re often invited to attend various courses and seminars, this one in particular peaked my interest, an in-depth technical overview of some of the latest products and updates from Microsoft.

Image representing Microsoft as depicted in Cr...

Image via CrunchBase

The course title was – Microsoft Visualization with Windows Server 2012 R2 & System Center 2012 R2

Coming from a VCP background and attended the relevant courses for the VMware VCP – vSphere Datacentre exams I was intrigued to look a bit more in depth to the Microsoft offering of Hyper-visors and the technology that Microsoft are looking to bolt into it to make an all encompassing container for business.

To my delight it is on par if not better. I say better because I use Microsoft products and they way it has been designed is similar to what I am used to with other Microsoft products, this I particularly like. It makes my hunting for particular features intuative and a better use of my time. At then end of the day, I want to complete something, not only do I want it done right, but I want it done quickly. An important first point I’d imagine a lot of technical people in my position would agree with.

The technology itself is very similar, there are swings and roundabouts that offset against each other in comparison tables, but for me Microsoft have it. Not only are they creating the Operating Systems and putting all the work into that side of things, but they are genuinely a player in the Hyper-visor level now, run an OS in a third party virtual environment or use a virtual environment that has been designed with the Operating System build in mind. It all makes obvious sense. Exchange and SQL performance improvements are a great example of this. *Insert ‘stat here* πŸ™‚

The delivery of the course was by a very technically minded marketing person, he knew what he was talking about and didn’t sugar coat that there were some areas that need improvement, but better than that, each time we were informed of a possible issue with something and then quoted a possible time frame for this to be resolved and improved. Microsoft work on things, now! An understanding that not everything is going to be perfect first time round is the reason they are THE player in what they do – business IT solutions (all encompassing these days)

I digress…..

I am looking a bit further into a number of points that were raised during the course, new products and services available to utilize as well as some ‘features’ that were not available in the SP1 release of Windows Server 2012.

The list of other items I hope to tick off include (but not limited to);

Windows Azure

Windows Intune

System Center Configuration Manager

System Center Operations Manager

Hyper-V (R2)

As well as the inner workings of all of these products.

Windows 1.0, the first version, released in 1985

Windows 1.0, the first version, released in 1985 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’m not going to be able to do this all over night so I will tick the list off and post links on this particular post so you can see the progress, although checking back in to see the newest posts wouldn’t hurt the statistics? πŸ˜‰

Anyhow, as a conclusion – Microsoft have done some pretty amazing things recently, I for one have had my glass emptied with VMware and now I’m ready to pour in the sweet sweet nectar of Hyper-V and all the possibilities the CLOUD OS provides.

Check back soon and thanks for viewing!

About Stephen Pothecary
IT Professional and Cloud Evangelist! IT Manager at Comms Group UK Ltd - Managed Services | Solutions | Procurement | Support Services | Cloud | Fujitsu!

Leave a Reply

